What Gender are Unicorns?

IMG_5533

This is a serious question folks.  Everyone knows it’s NOT okay to have a gender specific theme for your child’s nursery.  If you do choose to live in the 50’s and paint your daughter’s bedroom pink, you’re basically saying, “hey, you’re a girl!” And there is something very wrong with that in our world.

I definitely fell into this gender neutral ideal of raising your baby.  If eliminating pink, dolls, and frills was going to make my daughter a stronger more empowered human being, I was in! We painted our nursery green, I wanted a mermaid theme but thought, “no, no, what kind of message would that send?” So we went for baby animals instead.  Gender neutral baby animals to be exact.  Is that a boy cub or a girl cub? No matter, cubs are equal in their abilities and potential, amirite?

The problem I found with this whole gender neutral approach is that it almost makes being a girl taboo.  Not that pink, dolls, and frills equal girl, but these are things generally associated with girl interests (doesn’t mean it is ALL that interests a girl though).  So in my quest for gender neutrality, I found boy things for girls were A-OK, boy things for boys were good too, but girl things for girls or boys…BAD!

I don’t think it really hit me until I saw this unicorn head at Target.  I really wanted to buy it for R’s room (not that it had any place in her baby animal theme).  Then I thought, “unicorns are definitely girly right? That means I can never buy it.  Why can’t I buy something girly? Why is it bad to be a girl? My daughter loves playing with dolls and strolling them  in carriages at other people’s houses, why am I denying her of imaginative play that interests her? She gets giddy when we take things out of shopping bags, do boys do this? Should I discourage it? …When did being a strong woman mean denying your womanhood?”

This $20 unicorn head  made me question everything! Which led me to this conclusion:

Screw Gender Neutral! Let your child be who they are.  Guess what? If you paint your girl’s room in trucks and race cars that’s for you, not her.  You may as well like what her nursery looks like before she changes it all up with her own opinions and preferences.  Cause your child WILL have her own opinions and preferences.

*I did not buy the unicorn

4 thoughts on “What Gender are Unicorns?

  1. K has a pink accent wall in her room. Oops! I have noticed myself getting really excited over the fact that K likes to play with trains and dinosaurs. But, in the same vein, she loves dolls and having tea parties. I find myself slightly less enthusiastic about the dolls and tea parties. WHY?! Probably because I was an over-the-top girly girl and played with Barbies until an embarrassingly old age. I think it’s cool that she’s sort of a tomboy.

    I don’t dress her in a lot of pink or frills. But that’s just my own personal style. My comment makes little sense other than to say, I agree! Let our kids be who they are. We complicate things by making it about us (as parents).

  2. When it comes to my daughter, I pick the stuff I like. Sometimes it’s ultra girly, sometimes not. Just like sometimes I am girly, and sometimes not. When she’s old enough to pick what she wants, she can have whatever colors and themes her heart desires.

Leave a Reply

