Coffee Klatch: Bonavita Coffee Maker

After 12 Valentine’s Days together, the usual jewelry and flowers kind of gets predictable.  So this year we opted for a mutual gift that we could both enjoy for years to come–a new coffee maker.  IMG_5288.JPG

You read that right.  We got each other a Bonavita coffee maker.  This is perfect for us since we are a) always tired and b) LOVE a good brew.  There was nothing wrong with our old one, we just wanted a bit of an upgrade.  It was definitely a treat yo’self type of purchase.  In my opinion, there’s no better way to give gifts.  Gifts are all about what you want, not what you need.

Because S is such a logical man, he created a taste test for us the first time we used it.  He brewed the exact same coffee in our old and new machine and poured them for me to decide which one I preferred.  Let me just say, that I could hardly tell the difference and when pushed to make a choice, I chose the old coffee maker.  (fail)  Obviously I’m not as sophisticated of a coffee drinker as I think I am.

While I love the new machine, there are a couple drawbacks that I’ll share with you if you’re considering a Bonavita for yourself. 1) the lid to the pot is really hard to assemble.  2) it’s difficult to get the last ounce or two out of the pot as it catches on the curve of the pot and doesn’t pour out easily.  Other than those two things, it looks great and pours a delicious cup of joe.

Next on our coffee crazed shopping list: an automatic burr grinder.

 

Leave a Reply

