Infertile Fo’ Life

eb1c7d8e3c874d26b1255e271311a006

When you deal with infertility and somehow miraculously have a child (through IVF), people think that cures you.  “Your body knows how to be pregnant now.” “Your endometriosis is cured!” “When’s baby 2 coming?” But it’s not so simple.  I still have a gigantic endometrioma and pain associated with endometriosis, and after nearly a year of not using birth control, we are still not pregnant.  So now’s about the time you tell those people that they have NO idea!

They have no idea how hard it is to be disappointed that you actually believed their statements for a minute.  They have no idea that you have to research fertility clinics that are willing to monitor your ultrasounds and bloodwork for weeks before you fly to another state to do a transfer of your frozen babies.  Or even the cost associated with the whole process.  No idea, that you’re frightened the amount of frozen embryos won’t be enough to work (because there’s no chance of doing another harvest).

While the fear is a little less because we already have one perfect little miracle, it doesn’t mean we want it any less.  And I think that’s hard for people to understand as well.  Here’s to hoping our Han Solo babies are as bad ass as R.

 

3 thoughts on “Infertile Fo’ Life

  1. I SO feel you. I have a giant endometrioma as well. We’re endometrioma twinsies. I don’t know if there will be a second child. It most likely means we will have to do IVF again, and I’m just not ready to do it all over again. But, then again, I turn 35 this year.

  2. I SO feel you. I have a giant endometrioma as well. We’re endometrioma twinsies. I don’t know if there will be a second child. It most likely means we will have to do IVF again, and I’m just not ready to do it all over again. But, then again, I turn 35 this year.

Leave a Reply

