Father’s Day/Fathers’ Day

fq2

Now that people are wishing us a happy Father’s Day/Mother’s Day, though we are not quite parents yet, I am having conflicting feelings about these holidays.  I’m not the only one either.  (S suggested we not celebrate the day once baby arrives, that’s a whole other post)  I always thought Father’s Day, and Mother’s Day for that matter, were for honoring YOUR parents.  Showing YOUR parents that you appreciate what they’ve done for you.  And, if your parents have passed, perhaps spending some time on their memory.

Of course, when you yourself become a parent the holiday becomes a bit busier.  We haven’t been there yet, and maybe that’s why I just don’t get it.  But I assume that your child then honors you the same day you may honor your parent.  I’m not sure it’s your spouses job to thank you on Father’s Day, but I may be wrong.  Apparently I know nothing about the politics about these holidays.

I’m not sure when it became a day to wish every single person you know who is a father a “happy Father’s Day,” but I’m not sure I like it.  I think it loses the meaning of the day, and serves as a way to make those who aren’t dads who’d like to be, feel left out.  While we’re on the subject of making people feel left out/inferior…let’s talk about what our Instagram and Facebook feeds look like on these holidays.  Your feed can go one of two ways:

1) Your feed is full of pictures of your friends with their dads.  Sometimes they are cute old photos, sometimes they’re recent pictures, and other times they’re collages of all of the above.  I love these! It makes me happy to see where my friends came from, and how sweet their dad has been to them.  It really speaks to me about the meaning of these Hallmark holidays.

2) Your feed is full of your friends honoring their amazing spouses by posting a picture of their perfect families.  I hate these! I find them insensitive and self indulgent (what form of social media isn’t? I know).  I just think they’re a way to brag to the world how lucky/better/happier you are than everyone else.  Not to mention the fact that it’s not “cute family day,” it’s Father’s Day.  (As I write this I realize how bitter I sound.  I also realize that I very well may be one of these posters in the near future.  I just really really hope I am not.)

I’m sure I’ll live to regret this post, but I feel like this blog is about being honest about my thoughts and feelings.  And those are always changing, so don’t hold me to any of this a year from now.

 

4 thoughts on “Father’s Day/Fathers’ Day

  1. Hahahha Kesin saw Gavin and said “happy father’s day”… Gavin said… “Oh you don’t have to say that to me, i’m not a dad”
    Was funny. But I agree, reading posts from wives about their hubs instead of their dad is annoying… But if they at least do a combo… It isn’t as bad.
    However one who does not have a father or a good dad can argue that everyone else is also bragging when they post about their “great” dad

    Love u

      • Do I get a free pass b/c O doesn’t really know how to show her adoration for R yet, so I sorta do the celebrating on her behalf? I totally get that it can look bratty to do so, but it feels right on the day of. You’re allowed to dislike it, M! Such is the social media world, I guess.

      • Haha! I know, I guess the spouse does the work until the child is 5 or so. I think I just don’t understand it yet. And feeling like an outsider is never fun. I hope none of my friends take offense. I love all of you and your cute families:)

Leave a Reply

