Crash!

One way to end a week long funk is to get into a major car accident.  I’m thinking that deep down I knew something was going to happen and I wanted to avoid it/brace myself for it (hence the funk).  On Saturday our car got destroyed and I actually felt better after.  Weird!

To sum up the incident: We were turning left onto a busy street and a car (with no stop sign) hit us on the driver’s side of our car.  The air bags went off, the door was completely destroyed and the front/rear fenders were also damaged.  The other car had a tiny of its bumper fall off.  Here are the two cars involved in the accident:

PicMonkey Collage

 

I’ll let you guess who won.

When we got out of the car, which smelled like something was burning, we discovered our glasses had flown off our faces, my neck and back was suffering from serious whiplash, and S’s hat had somehow ended up on the car floor.  There are multiple sad realizations that came from this accident:

  • The accident was probably completely our fault.
  • Our insurance rate would most likely go up.
  • Our car could be totaled or at least out of commission for a long while.  (My dream car!)
  • Our bodies hurt.

But there was one thing that I was elated to realize:

  • We were both going to be okay.

In the moment of the impact, my initial reaction was “dang, that hurt.”  But as soon as that thought crossed my mind I looked at S to make sure he was not hurt worse than I was.  There was a moment of panic.  “What if he’s hurt!?!” And then, a great moment of relief.

It took a freakin’ car accident to get me out of my funk and be grateful for this life!

2 thoughts on “Crash!

Leave a Reply

