Happy New Year!

Last night we had a very “family” NYE. We spent it with families in which children outnumbered adults. It was a lot of fun to hang out with my nieces. It was especially amazing to realize that our 9 year old niece was able to have serious conversations and was practically a teen already.
Then there came the dreaded question: why don’t you have kids? Only this time it didn’t come from an adult. It came from an 8 year old and 9 year old. (The parents know better than to ask). The conversation went a little like this:
9 yo: why don’t you have babies?
Me: oh, I don’t know.
8 yo: but, aren’t you married? So why not get a kid?
Me: yea, we are married but no kid yet.
9 yo: well, maybe the right baby is coming…or maybe you’ll adopt! (Big hug)
Me: yea, the perfect baby is just waiting to find us.
I know 2014 is going to be great. I know this because I was able to keep it together throughout that conversation.
To all of you starting a new year still hoping for that miracle, I hope your perfect baby finds you soon! And to our perfect baby: we’re ready!

4 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. Kids ask me all the time why I don’t have a baby…a friend’s 3yr old asked the other day and when I said I wanted one but didn’t have one yet she told me I could have one of hers as she had 3 at home….ahh cute knife to the heart!

Leave a Reply

