What’s Your Passion?

c8e80191102fafa735242754792ea99f

 

Do you believe this?  I recently had a conversation with a colleague about relationships, work, and above all else having a passion that guides you in life.  It was a difficult conversation for me to take part in, because honestly, I had never thought about what my own passion in life might be.  To her, it seemed that unless you had something that you couldn’t get enough of, something you couldn’t stop learning about, something that would never stop making you grow as a person, what were you doing with your life?  Maybe that passion is your career, or maybe it’s what you do in your leisure time, but everyone has a passion (so she believes).

My contribution to that conversation was, “What if you don’t?”  Then I started thinking about what my passion could be. She made it sound like your passion was your world. So I thought: Is it teaching?  probably not.  Is it creating objects whether it be quilts, scarves, paintings…? I do love that.  But crafting doesn’t qualify as a passion, does it?  Is it my family and friends?  I absolutely love spending time with them and talking with them, but are people a passion?  I like traveling! Although, I’ve seen people way more passionate about traveling than myself.  At the end of this conversation I felt rather inferior for being a passionless bore.

Then I remembered, I really like my life.  I like blogging when I feel like it, I like being able to travel when we can, I like shopping with friends, I like going on pinterest for hours, I like lounging with my hubby and watching tv…Maybe I don’t have a fervor for any one thing that consumes me, but eh, I don’t mind.  She might say that I’m wasting my life away, but I am enjoying every minute of it.

So my question to you: Do you think having a passion is essential to getting the most out of life?  If so, what’s your passion?

3 thoughts on “What’s Your Passion?

  1. It’s funny that I am reading this post right after a walk where I thought about the same question. I don’t have one “passion.” I have interests and things I like doing but not one passion. So I hope it’s not required to enjoy life.

Leave a Reply

