Caffeine Free

5c7305f89084b8af0f01c60db736dc08

 

This is generally how I feel 80% of the time.  I wasn’t always this way.  Three years ago I went to Starbucks as a treat every other week or so.  The past four months I’ve been getting more than one cup of coffee, daily.  In fact, the other day I went to Trader Joe’s and saw their pumpkin flavored coffees and had to wipe the drool off my face.  This is when I had to admit to myself that I am an addict.

I’m not too keen on being dependent on any substance.  And, I’ve been reading all these articles that say caffeine and alcohol intake may affect IVF cycles, blah blah.  I decided that I should try to quit my coffee habit for the next few months at least.  Today is day two.  I’ve noticed that I’m in a pretty crap mood, but I’m not sure if it’s from the lack of caffeine or the abundance of tooth pain I’ve been having (tmj?).  So, because I am a person who loves routine (a.k.a. having tendencies towards addictions), I had to replace coffee with something.  I choose herbal tea and morning smoothies.  (the problem with exchanging coffee for smoothies is the cleanup is not an even exchange.  I just may burn out on this smoothie making business.)

Here are the winners so far:

1.  Trader Joe’s Harvest Blend Herbal Tea  Let’s just say apple, cinnamon, and hibiscus = warming goodness.  Plus there’s a fox on the box.

photo

 

 

2.  Pumpkin Smoothies  There are a few great recipes out there.  There’s a Superfood Pumpkin Smoothie from Little Leopard Blog, and a plain ole Pumpkin Pie Smoothie from Fannetastic Food.   I sorta made a blend between these two recipes.  It was pretty yummy.

I also tried making a green smoothie that had cucumbers, ginger, coconut water, green apples, and spinach.  I loved the flavor, but the consistency was a bit weird.  In fact, S refused to drink it (he is neither a fan of ginger nor gritty drinks you must chew).  I gotta figure that out.

So, that’s my latest.  Exciting, I know.  Check back in about a week, and I’ll let you know if this addiction stuck.

3 thoughts on “Caffeine Free

  1. I’ve been trying to give up caffeine as well. I’m ok in the morning with decaf tea, but I miss the afternoon pick me up of soda. I will have to try your smoothie idea!

Leave a Reply

