Getting Demoted on Purpose

272d2afd47a16fb94398427010d3deed

 

This seems to be the motto at my new job.  It’s quite refreshing, and to be honest, slightly challenging.  When we initially moved here, I didn’t intend on working at all.  I thought I’d focus on getting pregnant, and relax.  Turns out getting pregnant is slow going and I got a little bored with all my free time.  Lucky for me, the stars aligned in a way that I was able to get connected with an amazing private school.  I was offered a few positions there and ended up taking one as a teaching assistant for grades 1-3.  That’s right, I said teaching assistant.

After nine years of running my own classroom I demoted myself.  I knew I didn’t want full time work, so I thought this was the perfect opportunity to work with kids, make a little cash, and have enough time to pursue other interests.  Today was my first day on the job, and it’s been very eye opening.  I finally know what it feels like to be support staff.  I never asked my TAs to grade papers or put up bulletin boards (I always thought that was misusing quality time).  For a minute I thought it might feel demeaning to work as an assistant, but I think it will help me gain some perspective on how to best utilize future assistants, as well as learn a few things from some different teaching styles.  Most importantly, I think I’m going to learn to be more kind.

Let me explain.  Our school is one in which kindness and respect are valued in educating children.  In fact, no child is ever scolded or given a time out, no child is made to feel “bad.”  They should be reasoned with and nurtured.  WHOA! mind, blown! No time outs? No benching? How do you discipline students? I think this year is going to be great for me to develop ways in which to foster a disciplined child without squashing the spirit.  I’ll let you know how that goes.

3 thoughts on “Getting Demoted on Purpose

Leave a Reply

