Stuff Your Face: Delancey

Ever since my friend let me borrow her copy of  A Homemade Life by Molly Wizenberg , I’ve been a follower of her blog: Orangette.  She’s one of those foodies that I trust.  Every recipe I’ve tried from her book has been easy to follow and completely satisfying in the end.  When I moved to Seattle I was beyond excited to try the pizza place she and her husband opened up in Ballard.

Delancey is “fancy pizza”  as I tried to explain to my mom.  My mom laughed at this description, not quite understanding.  I had to tell her about how the pizza is wood fired and the ingredients are fresh and local.  My mom tried to relate, “Oh, I think I’ve seen that in another country once.”  In a world of Pizza Hut, Domino’s and Papa John’s, I think it’s hard for a lot of folks to understand why you’d go on a date to a pizza place.  But, I’m so glad we did.

We got there at opening time, 5:00pm sharp.  We wanted to make sure we got a table and didn’t have to wait.  (Come on a friday evening and you’ll wish you took my advice.  The wait can be up to 2 hours. I learned this the hard way.)  Well, not only did we not have to wait, but we were surrounded by single dads taking their children to dinner.  It was kind of odd how many dads were there celebrating the first day of school with their little ones.  Also weird, the conversations these dads have with their children.  (off topic)

Back to the good stuff, everything we ordered was delicious.  As you can see.

photo copyAs soon as a plate was placed on our table, it was devoured.  We started with a tomato salad and housemade pickles.  Did I ever tell you I love pickles? Well, I do!   Maybe it’s from a childhood of eating pickled jalapeños and kimchi, but anything soaked in vinegar is fine by me.  Hmmm…maybe that’s why when I dress my salads I prefer it without oil, and tons of balsamic.  (whoa! my brain is really drifting today).

photo copy 3 photo

And now for the crowning glory:

photo copy 2

 

This pizza could not get into my belly fast enough.  The pepperoni and oven roasted tomatoes had a delicious sweetness, and when I sprinkled on the crushed pepper it became the perfect balance of sweet and spicy.  My favorite part of the pizza though, was the crust.  I’m usually one of those people that eats the “good” part of the pizza and leaves all the crust on my plate.  (not a fan of dough.  croissants, baguettes, empanadas…anything doughy I can do without)  That’s why I loved this crust! It was thin, but not too thin.  It was crispy and slightly burnt on the edges, but not too burnt.  It was perfection.  I ate all the crust.  Before you go thinking it’s a weak crust that only non-crust lovers enjoy, just know that S, the most dough loving boy I know, raved about its yumminess as well.

I think it’s safe to say we’re coming back.

3 thoughts on “Stuff Your Face: Delancey

Leave a Reply

