Friend Sketch #1: International Party Girl

fa91c8371d919ef6210b8b52201d5c10Being new to a city, knowing I only have one year here, I am definitely putting myself out there.  I don’t want to spend each day twiddling my thumbs, so I am approaching people, getting numbers, and making lunch dates.  In this process I’ve had to relinquish a few things that I normally find to be part of my personality. 1.  Let go of judgement.  2.  Don’t be shy.  3.  Don’t worry about what others think. 4.  Talk even when you don’t know what to say.  I’m usually an observant wallflower who rarely makes her self vulnerable to people.  I think I’ve been pretty choosy about the people I surround myself with.  I would normally only talk to people who dressed like me, or looked like they walked a similar path to my own.  (Not very open minded when I reflect on it now, but it just seemed like an easy way to find someone you could connect to easily.  Maybe easy is the key word here.  I’m trying harder and perhaps it takes more effort on my part to reach out to those not so obvious friend choices.) I’ve found that being friendly and outgoing (and accepting of all individuals) can attract a wide range of people.  These are types of people I don’t think I’d have the chance to meet in LA (if only for my laziness).

The following is a profile of one of these new friends of mine.

Friend Sketch of the International Party Girl

Age range: 28-31

Marital Status: Married

Favorite Hobby: Clubbing/Drinking

Favorite Store: Bebe

Occupation: Housewife

Brief Description: This friend thinks she is super attractive and doesn’t mind saying so.  (Sometimes this will make you think you are not attractive just because she talks so much about her own cuteness)  She is outgoing, confident, and loves to party.  Her flattering outfits may make you feel frumpy, but she doesn’t mind.  She loves expensive things and claims to be “spoiled” by her husband.  She only shares so much about her personal life because she is so busy getting to know so many people.  She will probably be the first person you meet when you move to Seattle.

Most Admirable Quality: She appreciates each day she’s given to live, and aspires to make each day a happy one.  “Life is too short to be unhappy.”

I think I can definitely learn a lesson or two from her.

 

4 thoughts on “Friend Sketch #1: International Party Girl

  1. I’m with Jules Gut, this girl sounds a little annoying — but go you for not being judgmental. I think you’re correct to do so!

Leave a Reply

