Hobby #1

Got time on your hands?  Become an amazing chef!  That’s one of my many plans for this lovely hiatus I’ve been granted.  I think I’ve figured out how to get started too:

PicMonkey Collage

1.  Luckily I had a cute plan book lying around.  As a teacher on

break, this plan book did a lot to soothe my soul.  One of my favorite parts about teaching IS planning, so imagine my delight when I figured out a use for this little plan book.  It’ll be a diary of sorts, recording my meal plans day by day and week by week.

2.  I was also fortunate enough to find these awesome recipe cards (I’m pretty sure the plan book and the recipe cards were gifts from the bestie, so glad I could put them to use).  I’m saving these bad boys for recipes I truly fall in love with.

3.  Speaking of recipes, do you know how hard it is to decide what to make for dinner!?!  When your tried and true culinary feats can be counted on one hand, it’s always best to scour the internet for blogs that have already done the experimentation.  Problem is, there’s a lot of junk out there.  I once made a Thai coconut soup that literally had no spices added.  (warning sign #1)  Needless to say, it was majorly disgusting.  I never made another recipe from that site again. But then there are those sites that never let you down.  Maybe the author has a palate that is much like your own.  Here are some sites that are my go to (I hope your palate agrees):

Dinner, A Love Story  (Thanks to the recommendation from A Lovely State of Mind)

Orangette (I read her book, loved it, and have been frequenting her blog ever since. And, she has a restaurant in Seattle!)

Nom Nom Paleo (When I was on the Paleo diet, this was the only site that had recipes good enough to compete with gluten, corn, legume, dairy, sugar-filled recipes, she is genius!)

And here are a few I haven’t yet tried, but want to very soon:

Sprouted Kitchen and Wellness Mama.

Some might think all a chef needs are some pots and pans, fresh ingredients, and a few wooden spoons.  But I say, don’t forget the planning accessories!

P.S.  I’m sure I’ll grace this blog with some gratuitous photos of homemade meals soon.

4 thoughts on “Hobby #1

  1. Love the new look and the new hobby! Can’t wait to see what you cook up, and be sure to share links to your fave finds! 🙂

Leave a Reply

